Happy New Year! (Again)

Before January escapes me completely, I thought I’d slap up a little New Year’s Resolution post.

I only started doing New Year’s Resolutions about three years ago…and list loving fool that I am, I’ve come to just absolutely adore it.  Surprise, Surprise.

Of course there’s no way I can possibly accomplish all of my goals every year – I list far too many to begin with.  But still, the satisfaction of at least crossing off some of my goals, or taking a moment to reflect on the progress made on others, provides enough motivation for me to repeat the whole process again come next January.

Cheesy I know.  But that’s how this cheese ball rolls mmkay?

This year, since we have a lot of life changes thundering towards us like a herd of crazed Bieber fans, my list is shorter.  Also, I’m holding myself to a much looser standard this year.  As in, I’m aiming for these things, but I won’t kill myself to make them happen.

Here are some of my goals, in some particular order.  Just not an overly constructed order.  See, I’m already embracing the flow.

Goal #1:

Um, to SURVIVE.  Somanna has a new job.  I have to get a new job.  Oh and we’re moving TOWNS.  And selling a house (hopefully.)  And moving into a new pad yet-to-be determined.  Yeah, survival seems like an extremely worthy goal at this moment.  I’m fairly sure Somanna doesn’t want to have to plan my funeral on top of that laundry list.  Especially since I’m the party planner of this duo.  And I’ll be damned if my funeral sucks.

Goal #2:

BREATHE.  An extension of my first goal, I hope to not only survive, but also avoid the loony bin.  I hear deep breaths help with the whole de-stressing thing.  I also hear that breathing helps with the whole staying alive thing.  Here’s hoping I can keep up this habit.

Goal #3:

Get my lazy arse back in shape and in the gym.  Currently, flab is winning the battle.  NOT COOL YALL.  But seriously, nothing will rock your workout routine more than major life changes.  Once things settle down, I plan to hit the ground running.  Literally.  And I can’t frickin wait!

Goal #4:

This conveniently brings me to my next goal:  Run another Half Marathon in the fall!! Woo Hoo!! Oh wait, I never told you about my half marathon in 2010? Might have to do a little catch up blogging sometime.  Anyways, I’m super excited!! (As evidenced by my excessive use of the exclamation (!) mark!!!)

Goal #5:

Pay off the cars.  This is a leftover goal from 2010 that we were on track with until the whole layoff thing happened.   Boooo to layoffs.  Booo to car payments.

Bleh.

Moving on.

Goal #6:

Improve the blog.  I don’t really have specifics (yet) on this one, but I definitely want to give the blog some TLC this year.  So snuggle up yall!

Goal #7:

Two words for ya:  Digital Organization.  This project has been on my mind for some time now.  I wish I could convey to you my utter frustration with our current set up of digital files.  We have a desktop, a laptop and a defunct laptop.  We have different websites for photos, plus this blog and cd’s.  Pictures are scattered like mad across various programs and computers. It makes me want to burst in a turret filled rage complete with clicking, meowing and LOTS of cursing.

I’m going to stop here, because quite frankly I’m not so sure I can accomplish much more than that.  Goal Numero Uno will most likely occupy the first half of the year, so here’s hoping I can squeeze in those other “nice to have” goals somewhere else.  Either way, 2011 is shaping up to be a very busy year.  And in the words of my crafty heroine Martha, that’s a good thing.

Do you embrace New Year’s Resolutions or find them overhyped for your cool tastes? Anyone else moving or looking forward to a race of some sort this year?  Any unusual New Year’s goals out there in Cyberland?

Last year I had hoped to make my own tortillas from scratch, but never got around to it.  Tsk, tsk.  Shame, shame.  Maybe this year…or 2012.  Either way, I’ll get around to it….. eventually.

Yall have a great weekend.

2 Comments

Filed under GOALS! Soccer and otherwise, Happy New Year!

2 responses to “Happy New Year! (Again)

  1. Love the car payment goal, and the half-marathon, whoop whoop.

Leave Us Some Love!

