Day 25: Checking In So Far.

It’s day 25 on this here blog challenge and the fact that we’ve managed to keep this gig up surprises no one more than us.  Now that we’re in the home stretch, we’ve made a few observations and thought it appropriate to share.

  • While we’ve enjoyed posting every day, we’ve feel that overall posting quality has gone down. The classic quantity versus quality debate, if you will. On the contrary, (oh how British of us to use that phrase!) writing often = practice, practice, practice. Practice naturally provides one with a solid foundation and hones in those blogging skills.

All of that official analysis leads us to the obvious conclusion that while perhaps posting every day benefits us slightly less, clearly posting more than once a month benefits us far, far more. Somewhere between every day and once a month lies a happy medium. We just need to find it.

  • I am officially banning all forms of the verb “to be” from my writing. Starting right after that last sentence. (This means you have permission to nit pick in the comments.)

 

  • Same ban goes for passive voice!

 

  • However, clichés shall stay. It’s all about moderation folks. Maybe they’ll get the boot later. (Dorky Joke Alert!)  But for now, me thinks their use outweighs their writing taboo.

 

  • Currently, I’m re-reading the final Harry Potter book so that I can see the film before it leaves the theatres. That has nothing to do with this post, but I just wanted to share anyways.  So Fun!!!

 

  • After much thought, and struggle over those last few bullet points, I have decided to use the verb “to be” sparingly in exchange for clichés. It turns out words like “is,” “am” and “are” are, in fact, very useful. Much more useful than clichés.

 

So I swaps ‘dem.

  • Here’s another writing related bullet for you Dear Reader.  There has been a great debate lately here at Peaches & Curry headquarters over proper sentence spacing and the Oxford Comma.

Somanna preaches the old school double space after each sentence. I say one space, courtesy of my loyalty to the AP Stylebook. Somanna also supports the Oxford Comma, which I actually grew using but later abandoned during my college newspaper writing days, again courtesy of AP Style.

What say you on these critical and urgent matters of grammar?

Lastly, should grammar debates not elicit an impassioned argument on your part (because you actually have a life, unlike us) what have you enjoyed (or not enjoyed) about our 30 day adventure so far?

We welcome overflowing praise and constructive criticism, graciously. Snarkiness and the like you can check at the door.

It is the holiday season after all. Santa can still dole out lumps of coal you know.

Happy Friday Y’all!

 

 

9 Comments

Filed under 30 Days O'Bloggin', Bloggin' It Up

9 responses to “Day 25: Checking In So Far.

  1. Maggie

    I am so glad Shaloot alerted to me to this debate so that I could be the FIRST to weigh in. I am firmly pro double space post periods, and even MORE firmly pro Oxford comma. (And you want to talk about not having a life? I actually went to a party where a song that referenced the Oxford comma was playing. Beat that, nerd alerts!)

    I am also pro cliches and corny jokes and frequent Peaches and Curry updates, especially ones that reference your super cool cousins/cousins-in-law visits, so there you have my stance. 🙂

    Ahem. To make all of those sentences passive voice free, please substitute “strongly support” for all instances of “I am firmly pro.” 😉

  2. Um I most definitely support the double space!

  3. Mom

    Should I weigh in on this debate?–yes, I think I will! Definitely the Oxford comma to clarify meaning of dependent clauses and serial items. Double spacing after the period–I have relaxed on that rule! Depends on the audience! Just so you will know– the double spacing after the period was a typewriter function but since most people today use word processing on a computer, double spacing is not necessary because the word processing programs automatically space appropriately. Your dad says that the elimination of the Oxford comma occurred because of limited space with type setting on newspapers and it started with the New York Times. They even eliminated things like the double “e” on employee due to type constraints.

  4. Bob Wyche

    I agree with everything Maggie said. I hope this will simultaneously convey my opinions and raise my status in her eyes. 🙂

  5. I’m not weighing in on the Oxford comma, as it is Saturday and I don’t want to think that much. 😉 However, I side with you on the single space after a sentence. Thank you, AP Style book! 🙂

    I was a bit concerned over dropping all forms of “to be,” as is and are can be very useful. Good for you for seeking to improve your skills, though! I’m sure many college professors would just HATE the writing on my blog, lol! But I write as a I speak, so there you have it.

    As far as what I’ve enjoyed most, it’s usually the tales that make me laugh. Whether it’s about the cats, or the debates between the two you, I love to be entertained. I just enjoy your blog, doggoneit!!! It’s one of my favorites. 🙂

  6. Also: how do you enable the feature on your blog to “read more” instead of an entire blog post showing? I’m about to blog a whopper of a post, and it will take up my whole page if I can’t fix it! Any advice is appreciated!!!

  7. Having grown up with British English (because that was the mode of imparting knowledge and not becasue I’m from Britain), the serial comma was redundant.

    “In a list of things in a sentence, the penultimate and the last items only have to have ‘and’ in between. No comma necessary”

    [I made up that grammatical commandment, in case you were wondering]

    I use single space after each sentence.

    In the book Outliers by Malcolm Gladwell, he shows how 10,000 hours of doing, or practising, a specific task makes one really good at it. So, the more you churn out, benefits you in the long run. Though I believe, that some sort of research/proof reading/going-over-one-time makes any piece of writing, including blogs, better to read.

  8. Being a good samaritan and all, to answer the previous commentator’s question about how to enable ‘read more’ option in a post, here is the motherlode: http://codex.wordpress.org/Customizing_the_Read_More

    Easiest way is to just hit the ‘more’ button at the point where you want the rest to dissapear.

Leave Us Some Love!

