Literally vs. Figuratively.

Some people have a hard time differentiating when a sentence or statement should be taken figuratively and when it should be taken literally.  So let’s use my Ma as an example.

Figuratively:

“Aiyo now when going for my walks around the estate I just keep a look out through the bushes as if there’s an elephant or something that might come charging at me” – My ma.

Literally:

“Aiyo now when going for my walks around the estate I just keep a look out through the bushes in case there’s an elephant that might come charging at me” – My ma.

The folks in Kutta, Coorg, are literally having a problem of elephants running around during the day through their estates, annoying terrorizing people.   So my ma is just taking a few precautions now when she goes on her walks.

This is my Ma:

(standing on the edge of a look out view of Mysore)

And this is a pachyderm:
One last look

(which was taken in the park that borders our town. So it could be this very one that is checking out our house for all we know)

Now, who is coming to Coorg with us next trip?  Walks over there can really turn into sprints for your life, upping the ante on your calorie burn!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Literally vs. Figuratively.

  1. Yes! Let’s do this! Daytime it will elephant running and then night time it will be tiger stalking!
    ~Shaloot

Leave Us Some Love!

