Recently, On Peaches and Curry….

This is a man who loves all things sweet.

Especially his ice cream. And his cake and his cookies and his candy and his honey. Ok, so he’s not really discriminate when it comes to sugar, but that’s not the point here.

The point is that Sunday the (creepy) ice cream truck rode through our neighborhood blaring it’s tell-tale Piper song for all the little mice to hear. Whenever we hear it, which in the summer is about every other day and always on the weekends, Somanna will plead with me ask if he can go get an ice cream bar. I usually object on the grounds that it’s a royal rip off and because we have our own stash that may or may not be consumed on a nightly basis. I can neither confirm nor deny that last bit. Truthfully, I think he really only “asks” me because he is looking to me for willpower.

Except for this past Sunday, when it was hotter than Hades. We had been working steadily around the house and my main man had tackled the particularly un-fun chore of vacuuming the stairs. So when I heard the ice cream truck, I yelled downstairs to him before he could even ask and said “Yes baby, you can go get some ice cream.”

To which I heard this response: clangedy clang clang clang, tink!. Stompedy,stomp, stomp, whooosshh, slam! rumble rumble , ka-bam, slam! Stomp, stomp stomp.

Silence.

Homeboy, in the middle of doing dishes dropped everything, ran to the closet, threw on his flip flops, slid back to the kitchen junk drawer, grabbed some cash and headed out the front door to wait on the ice cream truck.

In the street.

With all the other kids holding their parents’ hands.

Let’s just say he was the tallest kid on the block.

11 Comments

Filed under Summer Time!, the drama queen, Uncategorized

11 responses to “Recently, On Peaches and Curry….

  1. That is so cute!

    I love my ice cream too, so I can relate.

  2. I can completely picture this 🙂

  3. katsfolio

    If we had an ice cream truck in my neighborhood I would do just the same. Some how I’m always the one that is still stuck in my childhood.

    My favorite used to be the Mickey Mouse cone.

  4. Somanna is more of a classic fella: Vanilla ice cream with plain chocolate shell. I am much more of a Nestle Crunch Bar kind of gal myself.

    Thanks for leaving us some love!

    • Must run in the family – I have a stack of of the same in my freezer. Plain Vanilla with a chocolate shell.

      It’s the simple things in life folks – simple things. You start getting complicated, then life is just one big disappointment.

      Bet you didn’t expect that from ice-cream huh`?

  5. Jessica

    I was reading in Glamour magazine today that it is perfectly “OK!” to wait for the creepy ice cream truck to drive up and wait amongst people who are three feet tall. I never give in though…that Piper song is creepy as hell!

  6. LOL! That is hilarious! We have an ice cream truck that roams our neighborhood as well, but I’ve never ventured outside to make a purchase. 😦 Hope it was tasty!

  7. Elise

    Yes, I can relate too. I would want to go get ice cream from your scary ice cream van but my “I can buy a whole box for $3” side would probably win out. I now live with a baby who loves ice cream as much as I do and always wants to share. The risk of ruining a growing child’s meal or healty snack gives me a little extra motivation to hold off (sometimes).

  8. Maggie

    Browsing through the blog-o-sphere on this slow Monday morning – I love EVERYTHING about this post!

  9. @ Elise, I’m fairly certain if we had a wee one, Somanna would use that as justification to get even more ice cream 😉 And you can vouch for how creepy that ice cream truck is since it came by when you were here!

    @Maggie, glad you stopped by Ms. Newlywed! Next time you visit we’ll be sure to have ice cream on hand 🙂

Leave Us Some Love!

