RIP Thatha.

A bitter sweet start to the new year, my Thatha (Grandpa) passed away on New Year’s Day. Same day as my brother’s birthday and the day after my parents anniversary, so it’s some mixed feelings regarding the last 24-48 hrs. I had a great time ringing in the New Year with Beth, Tasha, Sudhir, Marina and their friends in D.C. but now I can’t help thinking of what was happening about 11hrs away in India during the night here…

I always, always picture Thatha with his cigar (or pipe), walking stick, and driving his jeep around. Whenever in India I would be his chauffeur and hate that my last trip there in 2008 I did not once drive him around. Don’t know how it happened, but I never did. I had just thought “well next time” cause I didn’t see him slowing down till he was past 100! I also have a few photos of him, but I’m glad the photos I have are the typical images I always expected of Thatha. Reading his paper, smoking his cigar, driving the Jeep and taking his walks. I was really looking forward to Beth meeting him, that too in about 2 weeks time, as well as my bro’s kids there and have 4 generations there.

That was a picture I would have been sure to have taken.

From My Family!
From My Family!
From My Family!
From My Family!
From Images of Coorg!

My bro’s post is here.

10 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

10 responses to “RIP Thatha.

  1. Very sorry to hear about your grandfather. Thanks for sharing your thoughts and photos of him.

  2. Suresh mama

    Hi Shaloot, Those are very touching thoughts about your Thatha. I wrote this on Chetan’s blog yesterday and it applies here also. Here it is:

    “A fine homage indeed Chetan. In addition to leading a good and rich life, he was lucky to have three fine grandsons in you, Shalooth and Shiv Tone was lucky that she was able to spend some time with him. I am certain that he would have loved to meet Beth, Alex and Daniel and appreciate how blessed he was to have such fine individuals in his family.

    I pray that the dear departed soul rest in peace!”

  3. Tasha

    I’m so sorry to hear that. But keeping the beautiful memories alive and in your heart will hopefully provide some comfort. Thinking of you and your family. You’re in my prayers.

  4. So sorry to hear about your grandpa, Shaloot. But that was a lovely tribute you wrote and those photos are priceless. Our thoughts to you and your family…

  5. May

    Shaloot– I am so sorry for your loss, especially the timing. I remember you always fondly talking about your grandfather and his Jeep. Much love to you and your family during this time.

  6. Beautiful photos to go with even more beautiful memories. Sorry to hear of this loss, Shaloot – thinking of your family and sending hugs from TN.

  7. Thanks everyone for the kind words, thoughts, prayers and hugs. I really appreciate it.

  8. Anu

    Sorry Shaloot. I remember meeting him and visiting the house. I’m sure it will be hard to not see him there when you go back, but it will help that you guys are all together.

    Anu

  9. Elaine

    What a beautiful tribute to your grandfather! I, too, am sorry that Beth did not have the opportunity to meet him. What a treasured memory that would have been for her! Our prayers and thoughts are with you and all your family. Love to you! E and F

  10. Shaloot, I’m so sorry for the loss of your grandfather. Losing a grandparent is so hard, and I’m sure the distance didn’t help. Prayers with you and your family!!

Leave Us Some Love!

