2013: Let’s Do This

I love New Year’s. Love, love, love it. A clean slate. A fresh start. An “insert your cliché of choice” here.

And really, what’s not to love? Goals AND list making?

SIGN ME UP SISTER!

You could say I’m a little excited.

In the past, I may have been known to make the usual 10,20, err 30 New Year’s resolutions. Ambitious, much?

I struggle with narrowing my scope. Just ask Somanna when I plan out our weekends.

SOO this year, I am limiting myself to five goals / intentions. “Intentions,” by the way, is really a hippie speak for goals. Ssshhh!! Don’t tell the hippies!

So here are my 2013 Resolutions…in all of their shiny, New Year glory:

1.) Eat locally sourced meat. That is of course, organic, hormone free, free range and all of that other good stuff. We plan to phase into this goal. First, eat all of the meat in our fridge and freezer…replacements must adhere to the new rule. Then after mastering the home front, we move on to eating out. Hmmm….that will be the hard part. Not even going to lie. We could very well end up like this. Should be interesting.

2.) Read Three Classic Pieces of Literature. I feel like my brain is rotting. And this is my feeble attempt to revive it with some life, art and intelligence. Want to hear a sad fact? I’ve never read an Ernest Hemingway book. Or Tolstoy. Or Jane Austen. I’m not sure what this goal says about me. My education failed me? I’m a total dork? I’m reverting back to high school?

3.) Do a race. I know that sounds vague, but I’m currently feeling this one out. Not sure if I want to do another half marathon, a 10K or a mini-tri….as in triathlon. Mini-tri or sprint tri sounds significantly less scary than “TRIATHLON.” (dun, dun, dunnhhh.)

I’m looking into races now, evaluating training plans, time commitments (biggest factor), costs and race timing (i.e. when in the year is the big event.) The point is to really get me back into running. And in shape. Because I, along with half of my closet, miss both of those things.

4.) Blog More.

Cliche? Check.

Trendy? Check.

Annoyingly Redundant? Check.  BUT! This is my list and my blog, so I’m afraid I get to exercise unchecked power on this one. You understand of course ;)

5.) Quit living in fear of scarcity by practicing more Gratitude and Joy.

This principle is brought to you courtesy of Brene Brown. For more explanation, you can read this . That’s just a beginning. I highly recommend her books if you want to know more. It’s really good stuff. Very inspiring.

So that’s the plan for 2-0-1-3!

What’s on your resolutions list or do you scoff at New Year’s resolution makers? Happy New Year Y’all!

1 Comment

Filed under GOALS! Soccer and otherwise, Happy New Year!

One response to “2013: Let’s Do This

  1. Bring on 2013! Your resolutions are inspiring!

Leave Us Some Love!

